European Commission logo
INSPIRE Community Forum

EL GridCoverage Model - CV_Grid:extent or CV_Grid:limits

Hi everybody,

I am rather new to the Coverages subject and am right now working on transforming Elevation data into the INSPIRE Elevation GridCoverage model.

I have a question concerning the domainSet-attribute of the ElevationGridCoverage-FeatureType: The Data Specification (section 5.5.1.2.2.) mentions the attribute CV_RectifiedGrid:extent (which it inherits from CV_Grid according to the UML diagram of OI https://inspire.ec.europa.eu/data-model/approved/r4618-ir/html/index.htm?goto=2:2:4:1:1:7835 - this association is not diaplayed in the UML diagram of EL, which is why I am reffering to OI here). In contrast to that, "extent" cannot be found in the corresponding xsd (http://schemas.opengis.net/gml/3.2.1/grids.xsd#0:0). It seems that it has been replaced by CV_Grid:limit?.

I could not find any part in the Data Specification or any thread in this Cluster, that explains, why that is the case. Could someone help me out and explain to me, why the xsd differs from the model representation?

Thank you in advance and all the best

Johanna

• Enrico Iredi

Hello Johanna,

the rectified grid attribute looks like this. There is no extent?

Sample coverage: https://themes.jrc.ec.europa.eu/file/view/214982/gml-example-renewableandwastepotentialcoverage-er-c

Best regards

Enrico

• Johanna Ott

Hello Enrico,

Thank you for the reply. Exactly, as I mentioned, in the XSD, there is no extent attribute. But looking at this UML diagram, I would expect one in CV_RectifiedGrid:

(the diagram extract is taken from the OI specification - figure 8 as the EL specification is less detailed there).