European Commission logo
INSPIRE Community Forum

Interpretation/Implementation of GRIDs for raster data (especially elevation)

Dear INSPIRE community!

I'm a GIS technician working for the Federal Office of Metrology and Surveying (BEV) of Austria. With the attentive help of the Italy-based company GeoSolutions we are implementing the provision of our INSPIRE relevant raster data.

The inspire directive describes in "2.2. Grids" a geographical grid based on the ETRS89-LAEA CRS. Raster data has to align with it.
In section "2.2.2(.1) Other Grids" it is stated that other grids may be specified in this Annex for specific data themes. There is no other grid specified in this Annex for the data theme elevation. There is another grid specified in Annex D of the TG for elevation data, which I interpret as recommendation, not an obligation, since it is not mentioned in the Annex of the original directive.

The software used by us is GeoServer, which is extended with necessary functionality to serve INSPIRE conformant data. This is done mainly by contracting the company GeoSolutions which is adding these components to the open-source-code of GeoServer, ready for everyone (not just us) to be used.

(following, I use the terms "foreward" and "backward" to phrase my explanation, I apologize, if these have other meanings in your eyes)
To my understanding, transformation performed by GeoServer (and many other GIS software), is done in a "foreward" way: The user is defining an area-of-interest, which is extracted from original data and then reprojected into the desired CRS. A slight misalignment with the original bounding-box is happening, because of reprojection errors.